Hello my crickets…

cricketcricket

 

 

cricket

In a recent blog, I was informed that ‘comments’ are increasingly ‘off-the-menu’ for blog sites. The report was disheartening. I had high hopes when posting my book Canary In the Coalmine online, terribly written as it may be, to, at the very least, develop a conversation around the topic of health and wellness, and of preventing illness through proper diet. My other hope was that researchers, clinicians, and doctors would get a perspective from the patient and the patient’s family. My pie-in-the-sky hope was that it would lead to a different attitude and approach to managing healthcare and how we view (and fund) research for healthcare.

So, although, I have found a few other blogs (and books) that show that I am not the only one pleading for sanity and accountability in healthcare… for the most part, there are no real discussions about it. It was perplexing to me to read about such a sensitive topic and not see any online discussion about it. It’s like everyone is busy with something else… but then I stopped my thoughts right there.

Wait a minute. The blog that was the catalyst for this thought stream said “NPR”.

NPR is a news organization. Yes, they do a lot of commentary, but essentially, they produce liberal, left-leaning topics and news stories. That is journalism.

I would like to pose the argument that Blogging, in its’ pure form, is not Journalism. But first, let’s define “Journalism”.

Per Merriam-Webster:

noun 1 a : the collection and editing of news for presentation through the media b : the public press c : an academic study concerned with the collection and editing of news or the management of a news medium 2 a : writing designed for publication in a newspaper or magazine b : writing characterized by a direct presentation of facts or description of events without an attempt at interpretation c : writing designed to appeal to current popular taste or public interest

And now, let’s define “Blogging”.

Also per Merriam-Webster:

: a Web site that contains an online personal journal with reflections, comments, and often hyperlinks provided by the writer  — blogger noun  — blogging noun

Um. Okay, this is awkward.

Oh, sorry, my mistake. There really wasn’t an argument.

Can we get back to blogging, please?

Comments are welcome.