Every Sunday (or thereabouts), I find myself in a bit of a quandary as to what to do with leftover veggies from the week. It usually ends up being an experimental dish. The girls now call it “what’s left over in the fridge” dinner. I call it “dinner surprise”.

Anyway, I thought it would be fun to share. Two reasons: 1) It might inspire you to be braver in the kitchen; and 2) It will serve as a record, for me, to know what the heck I did, and how I did it.

Dinner Surprise tonight consists of a Skillet Nicoise inspired fried potato hash.

img_0665

What’s in it:

I had 2 purple potatoes, a red potato, and 3 russet potatoes left in the potato bin. (1 russet potato didn’t make it. I squeezed it and it burst open! Ew!)

I added leftover half of red onion (chopped), finely chopped garlic clove, seared in olive oil. I added the chopped potatoes and let them cook on medium low for about 10 minutes. I added celery leaves and part of the stems (chopped), a 1/4 teaspoon of caraway seed, 1/2 teaspoon of Thyme, 1/2 teaspoon of Marjoram, 1/4 teaspoon of something that I honestly can’t recall… might have been Oregano.

I let that cook on medium low for a few minutes (no more than 5). I added a tablespoon of chopped sundried tomato in oil. (Don’t tell the girls! That is 1/3rd of the “Unholy Trio”, which includes feta and olives.)

When the potatoes were almost done, I threw in the half package of (5 ounce) mixed greens. Stirred it all together, and put the lid on. Turned off the stove and let the greens wilt properly. (Best part of using cast iron… stays hot longer, you can turn off the stove and let it finish cooking in the pan for at least 5 minutes or more…)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The recipe doesn’t necessarily fit our requirement of carbohydrates and protein balance. But I added some Italian Green Beans as a side, and I think at least the fiber content will off-set any glucose (blood-sugar) spikes.

I hope you will be brave in the kitchen as well, and try some vegetable you’ve never eaten before! We are not heavy into the Plant-Based Diet. I appreciate the intent, but I believe, especially for growing kids, that you need some meat (product) protein in your diet to develop proper brain function. But I do enjoy the challenge that eating a few plant-based meals a week offers!

Good luck with your endeavors and let me know how it goes! 🙂