I just wanted to let everyone know that I am ready to move to a different blog subject. I will still keep with some health, food, cooking, and occasionally might complain about doctors, but I’m SO done with the book. Not sure what the actual focus of the new blog will be, if anything. I would like to get back to fiction again, since that is where I seem to be happiest. But I have the poetry bug again too… Hmm… Possibilities are endless. Basically though, Canary in the Coalmine will be my home away from home, my place to relax and ponder, and to catch up on all your blogs, while I finish this graduate degree program thing that I somehow, willingly, signed on for…

I tell you all this, because I find myself settling into the blogging life again. I tell my husband of a post by Sable, or something witty that Tony posted; or thoughtful and challenging that Pete shared. I mention, and often share with him, a video that Conor posted. I tell him how Aiden/Buddha made me chuckle. What books Birdie recommended this week that looked interesting… emr’s lovely, sweet, posts and the poems, unbolt, O, and all the others… (There’s too many, I am up to 30 now I think!) And I realize, do I know these people? Do I really know them?

Really?

images

The answer is, I don’t know you. But, do we know anyone, really? Even the people in the real world? We only know the persona that they present to us… I mean, how many of Jeffrey Dahmer’s neighbors said he was ‘quiet and polite’ while he was hoarding body parts? (You’re not like that, right? *gulp*) Haha! *ahem*

In internet land, I have learned though, that you often see more of a person, and not less… sometimes TOO much if you squint your eyes and look close at the gravatar icon image, but none of you are those kind. Something about distance, imagined anonymity, and emotional detachment makes people more brave, and, if they’re not completely loony toons, allows for a more sincere intellectual intimacy than any real world encounter has managed to accomplish on such a large scale.

troll

The intimacy allowed is because there is time to process, before you respond. There is time to think. It’s not that jumbled mess of ongoing conversation where the fastest, loudest, and most outgoing wins the battle for topics and one-liners. It’s calm, controlled, and reasonably sane. And if it isn’t, well, there’s always the option of the block and ignore button (though I only reserve that for the most egregious of offenders – I like debate after all…).

In blogland, you find out very quickly who has learned to use their words as weapons or tools. Who has the benefit of years and experience, and who has learned when to stop talking and when to just listen (and like a post) rather than respond.

Grammar and spelling have nothing to do with it, by the way. Although it makes a post easier to read, it doesn’t mean that it will have anything to say. I once read a beautifully written, provocative, thoughtful post with no capitalizations or paragraphs… just one, long clump of text. And the only punctuation were ellipses… The emotion of the post, the shock of what the post was ultimately about… it almost brought me to tears.

As some have mentioned recently, you don’t find that type of post in the Facebook arena. Too personal. Too identifiable. They’re all still wearing their masks.

Personally, I prefer this pseudo-anonymous venue. This, “I only know you by the words you use” venue… because words tells far more about a person than physical appearances or how low or high they are on the social strata… Because as we all know… as soon as someone sees you, within 5 seconds they have formed an opinion. And it has nothing to do with what is going on in that beautiful mind of yours.

As I restructure this site… and move the book to the background forever… I hope you will stick around for the debates, recipes, and discussions to come…

NOTE: Sorry I couldn’t keep it under 512.! Lol. I just could not let the darlings go! That is one of the challenges I plan to take on soon. 😉 If you made it this far, God bless you. And thank you!