New to the menu: Acorn Squash!

I have challenged myself to try all of those ‘exotic’ fruits and vegetables that I find at the food co-op or the whole foods store. Okay, they are not that exotic. But they are to me. I grew up in the south, within arms reach of peaches, pears, pecans, tomatoes, watermelon, pumpkin, yellow squash, zucchini squash, you know… the usual stuff. Winter stuff, like acorn and butternut squash, and dark greens like Kale and Chard, were just not a part of our food repertoire. We had turnip greens and spinach in their place.

This week, the Acorn Squash at the food co-op whispered hello… so I took a deep breath, grabbed it, with absolutely no plan as to what I was going to do with it. I wondered how to cut it, cook it, and whether or not you could eat the skin.

Here she is:

img_0693

The almighty google reported via various blogs and wiki-how type forums that, yes, yes indeed you can eat the skin. There were no stern warnings against it, so… onward with dinner.

I found this recipe in my Betty Crocker cookbook (see the reading list page):

img_0692

CHANGES I MADE: It called for 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar. We limit sugar when possible. I sprinkled a pinch on top of each one instead. This was a mistake, and made it a little dryer than ideal. Next time I am going to use 2 Tablespoons of applesauce in the mix to sweeten it. (1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce is a replacement for any recipe calling for 1/2 cup of sugar) Also, I am going to add cinnamon per my younger daughter’s request next time.


The next step was what to eat with it… I found a similar Acorn Squash recipe in my 365 Vegetarian Meals book, and it suggested pairing it with this:

img_0691

img_0698

CHANGES I MADE: We didn’t have Kale, but we did have Green Leaf Lettuce. I just omitted the 1/2 cup of water at the end, and tossed the lettuce in just until it started to wilt. Then I put in a bowl and topped it with the salsa:

img_0699

As always, I hope this inspires you to be brave in the kitchen and try some food you’ve never tried before… It’s important to note that this is a completely vegan meal. With lots of vitamins, minerals, fiber, and protein. Who needs the meat? 🙂

Cheers!