Main Entry: extortion
Pronunciation: ehk-stor-shun
Function: noun
Date: 14th century

1 : the act or practice of extorting especially money or other property; especially : the offense committed by an official engaging in such practice 2 : something extorted; especially : a gross overcharge

FAIL.

A special thanks to Merriam-Webster for that introductory definition. But we require a more refined definition:

Main Entry: extort
Pronunciation: ehk-stort
Function: transitive verb
Etymology: Latin extortus, past participle of extorqure to wrench out, extort, from ex- + torqure to twist — more at TORTURE
Date: 15th century

: to obtain from a person by force, intimidation, or undue or illegal power : WRING; also : to gain especially by ingenuity or compelling argument

SUCCESS…



At risk of offending those that actually suffer from this mental illness, I must confess that I am suffering a bit of Multiple Personality Disorder. I am not feeling like myself…My thoughts shift from the here and now, to TV land.

It is probable that this feeling is due to my exposure to the season premiere of The Walking Dead, or the glass(es) of wine needed to deal with the emotional ramifications thereof… regardless… the term Extortion is the word of the week. And the focus of my debate question:

“What constitutes extortion?”


As a parent of a teen and pre-teen, I am a victim of this brutalist tactic on a weekly, sometimes daily basis.

It is spoken and implied, through various means, things like “if you will let me go to this sleepover, I will do my chores…” or “I’ll be good if you let me go to the mall”.

It never works, of course. Because, the reality is that “If Said Chore is not completed by 6pm on the Friday in Question, there shalt not be any sleeping overeth happening”. And “If you aren’t good, you will get in trouble. Mall has nothing to do with it.”

Enter WordPress (WP)… and my apologies.

WP, using the character from Walking Dead – Negan’s, biblical, Abraham plus Glen and Isaac tactics – are winning. (If you are a Dead fan, say oohrah!)

negan-kills-rick-twd
http://www.hypable.com/who-did-negan-kill-twd-season-6-finale-guesses/

The following images, screenshots, are why I feel the need to apologize and concede to the power-that-is-WP, because these are the advertisements (at least locally) that my readership have been subjected to:

img_0702

img_0703

img_0701

If my British friends have been bombarded with Brexit support addies, I am so sorry. WP wins. I will be upgrading my account to remove them.

Of note: I am not anti-Republican… I am a not a full democrat. I am a dreaded moderate.

I am conservative enough to piss off the liberals, and liberal enough to piss off conservatives. I am a thinking, reasoning individual in a society that values adherence to rank, status, and thus culture over good ol’ common sense.


My question for this week is this:

In your daily, weekly lives… how does extortion play into your decisions?