For Debate Tuesday, I thought perhaps a true debate would be fun. The success of it depends on you, dear reader (no pressure! Lol). It will be awkward, since this is the first attempt… but bear with me. Perhaps the next ones will be even better?

I will post the real event later, if you like. But I wanted to get your unbiased opinion first.

Of note, this is to help with an article for Conor on The Conversation Room, so even if you don’t normally comment, please weigh in… I need some perspective on this!


The topic for today is Bigotry.

Here’s a definition via Merriam-Webster so that we are all in agreement. I have bolded the portions that I tend to focus on… you are welcome to point out your own:

Main Entry: Big-ot
Function: noun
Etymology: French, hypocrite, bigot
Date: 1660

: a person obstinately or intolerantly devoted to his or her own opinions and prejudices; especially : one who regards or treats the members of a group (as a racial or ethnic group) with hatred and intolerance


I have observed bigotry across the entire socio-political spectrum.

No one is immune to its egotistical allure. Not even me… though I tend to retract statements (or soften them) when I catch myself doing it, which, unfortunately, I don’t always do.

I am going to relay a recent situation to get the conversation started. Please answer the questions at the end, and share your own experiences.


The scene: A public school.

The situation: Approximately one hours of class time was allowed for a private organization to promote group membership to the children.

Problem 1: The organization requires acceptance of their core beliefs for membership.

Problem 2: The school is diverse, and not all students ascribe to their core beliefs. Some even have contradictory beliefs that will disqualify them for membership.

The Perspective: Parents were upset and believed that the organization should not be allowed to exist, let alone market membership in a public school.


Question 1: Should the school allow this? Why, why not?

Question 2: To what extent should the organization be allowed to market membership? (i.e. Where, when, or how?)

Question 3: To what extent should the organization be allowed to limit membership?

Question 4: What do you think of the parents’ response? Was it justified? Why, why not?


Thanks guys and gals!

Cheers! 🙂