Greetings all who survived Thanksgiving.

Okay, that sounded fatalistic. Apologies. But, as an introvert, the holidays are especially taxing for me. I love it. And hate it. I love getting to see and talk to everyone that I don’t get to see all year. I hate how utterly exhausted I am… and how I will inevitably relive each, individual conversation (even those I was not part of), in agonizing detail. Face-palming will ensue.

For Sunday dinner this week… I offer the following montage of images. With explanations.

img_0749

Leftover bananas, 1/2 cup of walnuts from a salad topping, and a pumpkin. What do I do?

img_0751

Ah hah! This is a book I picked up in the checkout aisle… a really long time ago. (Mind the faded pages…)

img_0752

MMhh Hmm… Yep. Banana Bread. My older daughter, when she was around 5 or 6 years old, used to get me to over-buy bananas for just this recipe.

What I talked about in an earlier blog: 1/2 cup of applesauce (unsweetened) is equal to 1/2 cup of sugar in any recipe. (Yes, it will be less ‘sweet’, but the taste will more than make up for it. Break yourself of the sugar addiction NOW.)

This is why:

img_0750a

The SUGAR ASSOCIATION, Inc. Wow. What was that about conspiracy theories?

The pumpkin had a less glorious, but equally delicious fate:

img_0755

Roasted pumpkin seeds. Just toss them with some canola oil, roast them at 325 degrees for 45 minutes. Add some sea salt, fresh ground. Yum.

img_0762

The Pumpkin itself… is yummy as well. As a pie, of course. I will never EVER buy canned pumpkin again. See the previous pumpkin baking blog for details.

img_0761

Banana bread (low sugar) and pumpkin pie with a homemade ‘pat-in-the-pan’ oil pastry recipe from my Betty Crocker cookbook. Leftovers? Throwaway? Ha!

As always, I hope this helps you be brave in the kitchen. Don’t throw away anything you don’t have to. Waste not, want not… and all that.

Well, unless it is beets. *Taps music plays* The beets, unfortunately, died a sad, soggy, wilted death. I heard taps playing as I dropped them into the waste bin. *sob*