BirdieBookworm posted this as a tag and it looked like fun! I haven’t read very much fiction in the last year or two… stuck with non-fiction until graduate school is completed. I am hoping to find something good for the Christmas break though. For now… here are my answers!

Thanks again Birdie! 🙂


BLACK – A series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans:

The Twilight Saga. Most definitely. I tried really hard to read it. I had friends that LOVED it and they aren’t usually readers, so I think it was great in that regard, but ultimately I decided that the writing style and version of the vampire did not fit with my sensibilities. (Anne Rice was the pinnacle of vampire literature for me… nothing compares to this day.)

PEPPERMINT MOCHA -A book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of year:

The Polar Express. We watch the movie every year now… but I remember back when the book first came out. What a wonderful story!

polar-express-pic

HOT CHOCOLATE – A favorite children’s book:

Hooway for Wodney Wat by Helen Lester, illustrated by Lynn Munsinger.

wodney-pic

I heard about this book in one of my Speech Language Pathology classes, and promptly ordered it for my future speech therapy library. Wodney can’t say his ‘r’s, but somehow he still wins in a game of Simon Says against the bully.

DOUBLE SHOT OF ESPRESSO – A book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish:

Speaking of Anne Rice… I know I have read others since then, but Interview with a Vampire, I read in a little over one sitting, with an agonizing wait for the next chance to finish it.

STARBUCKS – A book you see everywhere:

No matter what book, craft, or retail store… I see the grown up coloring books EVERYWHERE. Yes, they are very cool and make great gifts… but how many do we really need? I see a lot of future – doomed for – clearance books. (Which I will promptly stock up on for future gifts, lol)

THAT HIPSTER COFFEE SHOP – A book by an indie author (shout out):

I’m a fan of my local author, yearly book fair. I always find interesting stuff, and get to meet authors. I found these authors: Marie Mitchel & Mason Smith. They have a slew of kids’ books. I bought 2 for my daughter for Christmas last year, 48 Hours and The Lost Dispatch. My daughter loved the second one… it just happened that they were studying the Civil War in social studies! 🙂

51xtkc1bfql__sx331_bo1204203200_

OOPS I ACCIDENTALLY GOT DECAF – A book you were expecting more from:

French Kids Eat Everything by Karen LeBillon. Yes, it’s a non-fiction food memoir. I wrote a blog about it here: The Food Bully – An American Tradition. When I bought the book at my local used bookstore, I was looking for vindication, which I found… but found no inspiration or advice that I didn’t already know. The book only confirmed the suspicions I already had regarding American food attitudes and made me want to move to France. *sigh*

Still, I highly recommend it. Had I read it prior to our ordeal, I might have had a different opinion and it would have been a big help to know that I wasn’t completely insane for removing the average American “diet” food from our lives. (When I say ‘diet’, by the way, I mean the noun, “diet: the food we consume on a daily basis”… NOT the verb “to diet: to restrict oneself of food for the purpose of weight loss”.)

IMG_0515 

THE PERFECT BLEND -A book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying:

The Kingkiller Chronicle by Patrick Rothfuss. The bitter is waiting for the final book. The sweet is that I got to see him at my local book shop when he released a teaser novel The Slow Regard of Silent Things. Still waiting… *ahem*

GREEN TEA – A book that is quietly beautiful:

Oh wow. I actually forgot about this book. They turned it into a movie which was good. But the book was excellent: The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri. What a sad and sweet book… maybe this should have been the previous choice?

I have yet to get to read Interpreter of Maladies which got wonderful reviews as well.

CHAI TEA – A book or series that makes you dream of far of places: 

I’m going to reach far back for this one… The Piers Anthony, Xanth novels. I gobbled up 2 of those a week when I was a teenager. The runner-up would be Anne McCaffrey’s The Dragonriders of Pern series.

EARL GREY – A favorite classic:

This could possibly be a long, long list. The ones I have ALWAYS been able to go back and read though are The Scarlet Letter by Nathanial Hawthorne, The Great Cases of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott…

But then, there’s also H.G. Wells’ War of the Worlds, and The Mysterious Island by Jules Verne. And SO many more… *sigh* (You know you are a fan when you even read the terrible out-of-print, kindle versions of their books!)

Tag Time!

I TAG:

Jdub

Amie the Author

Jessica’s Blog